On October 7, 2012

Thomas wrote an entry in his journal, / rubbed it out, / and hiked barehanded away from words / leaving Kotzebue / for the Arctic Dunes of the Kubuk Valley, / turning his back on the Chukchi Sea, / walking past the hungry grizzlies / of the Sungak River / toward the rock face of the Waring Mountains, / to climb the wind / and step inside the sky.

Seeing only an “O” / perhaps all that remained of S.O.S., / searchers tried to send words through / like snowmobiles, / a slow-flying two-seater cub, / a Piper Navajo six-seater, / scanning the floating shelves of ice / well into December / for smoke signals / for letters in the snow, / for his rusted beard, / his mossy eyes, / his grin.

4 thoughts on “On October 7, 2012

  1. Thank you for doing this again, Rose! You inspire me and I loved this one. I am thinking about what you are using for a theme and since I’m away from the computer much of the day this week, might use ideas from the book I’m reading. Best wishes!

    • Rose, I’m finally starting these. The first poem is wonderful, all of it. I’m especially drawn in by the last two lines of each stanza. I’m looking forward to this journey.

      • Terry, I’m so glad you’re reading these poems — this month has been a crazy journey. Thank you for letting me know that you liked the first poem and for the helpful feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

